NET Bible

My mother asked me what I wanted for Christmas this year, and I asked for a copy of the NET Bible. I seldom use this translation because I rarely make use of digital resources during spur of the moment study. Well my copy arrived in the mail a few days back and I love it. It is very well made and has a nice leather cover in a beautiful tan-brown.

What I love most about this NET Bible is that there are three types of notes. If you’re not familiar with them, they are either regular study notes, notes on the translation from Greek or Hebrew, or else notes on textual criticism. I’ve spent just enough time studying Greek that I can follow the majority of the notes in the NT. I have a bit more trouble with the Hebrew, however I still can follow most of the discussion in the OT as well.

Even though I’ve been blessed many times over in the past month with numerous free Bibles, I think I am going to make the NET Bible my primary translation for 2009. I will also be using my ESV, NLT, and TNIV Study Bibles frequently as I make comparisons among them and spend more time with their notes. However I’ve never really spent much time with the NET before so I think it will be a refreshing change from the versions which I used in 2008. I’ll be sure to keep you updated with my impressions.

14 thoughts on “NET Bible

  1. Nathan, I own two of the them, both are bonded leather. I own the edition that you have here, and also the readers edition. I thought I would read more of it if it was in a more manageable size. But I have yet to really make an effort.

    I do think that it is similar to the NIV (possibly better than the NIV) & HCSB.

    I am very curious to see you post some findings through out the year, that would be really good. This bible does not get the sort of attention that it should.

  2. I’d probably use it more if I had a card copy, but as it is I rarely access it online (at least the notes, I look at the translation in e-Sword fairly regularly). BTW, I hear that the NET-NA27 Diglot is supposed to be a NT student’s dream.

  3. Robert,
    Actually I have the tan premium leather edition that costs twice as much. The bonded leather ones are much nicer than other bonded leathers, but I opted for the premium edition and it is great. I think the standard bonded leather would suffice for more people though.

    (by the way that isn’t a photo of my Bible, though mine looks nearly identical to it)

    Nick,
    I’m the same as you. I’ve thought all last year that I would use it if I only had a physical copy. I’ve toyed with the idea of getting the NET diglot, but I see no point in doing so until I return to my Greek studies.

  4. Thanks for posting this, Nathan. I did end up buying the Kindle edition (text only, no notes) and although it is poorly indexed, it will make for a good reading Bible. I too have not spent much time with the translation, so it will be a nice change of pace from the usual suspects.

  5. Nathan, sorry about that what I meant by the same edition, was the one with the 60,000 notes, I was not referring to the quality or the type of leather that you have. I would love to have one of those Premium Leather ones, but I would prefer the Readers Edition – I don’t even know if they make a Premium Readers addition, but either way not something I am going to invest in, at least for now.

  6. The diglot version is a very fine edition indeed.

    One of my only claims to fame is that I did some of the conversions from BAGD to BDAG for the NET Bible. I’m so cool! Okay…maybe not :)

  7. Good for you!

    The NET has been my primary bible for a while now. I love the NET diglot all the more now that I have an NKJV-using pastor. And I like having the Greek and variants onhand as well. My Greek needs all the help it can get. On the Hebrew side, the NET is simply the best textual resource I know for the Hebrew-impaired.

    My latest solution for my obsession with notes, notes, NOTES is to have the NET 1st edition in pdf on the new media player, and to carry the diglot. This has actually lightened the book bag for church!

    I find the NET goes quite well with the NIV, having followed along with my associate pastor in a Wednesday night study of Galatians last year. I don’t think it is so like the HCSB, which I find follows the KJV in places.

    I look forward to you NET observations and the presumed update of the NET in 2010.

  8. Pingback: Ephesians 1:18 (NET Bible notes) « συνεσταυρωμαι: living the crucified life

  9. Anyone who hasn’t done so already should click on the link in the comment above mine and check out Brian’s observations about the NET Bible. There is some good dialog in the comments as well.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

